Skip to content
Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy
Search Close

Jeff Bluestone Honored as a 2016 Thomson Reuters Citation Laureate; Jim Allison of MD Anderson Cancer Center and Craig Thompson of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center also recognized

SAN FRANCISCO, Sept. 21, 2016 – Jeffrey A. Bluestone, The Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy CEO and President, and A.W. and Mary Margaret Clausen Distinguished Professor of Metabolism and Endocrinology, University of California San Francisco Medical School, was recently selected as a 2016 Thomson Reuters Citation Laureate for his significant influence and contributions to the field of medicine. This prestigious honor identifies researchers whose work is among the world’s most influential scientific discoveries and worthy of Nobel recognition.

Bluestone is being recognized alongside Parker Institute Center Director James P. Allison of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center President and CEO Craig B. Thompson, for their work in explaining how CD28 and CTLA-4 are regulators of T cell activation, modulating immune response.

This year, the complete list of Thomson Reuters Web of Science 2016 Nobel-class Citation Laureates includes 24 researchers representing five different countries.

About Citation Laureates

Annually, Thomson Reuters analysts mine scientific literature citation data to identify the researchers whose work is worthy of Nobel recognition for induction into the Hall of Citation Laureates. They are the innovators responsible for the world’s most influential scientific discoveries, with scholarly papers typically ranking in the top 0.1% by citations within their field. Many go on to win the Nobel Prize for their significant contributions toward the advancement of science.

The annual Citation Laureates study has predicted 39 eventual Nobel Prize winners since 2002. The study mines scientific research citations within the company’s Web of Science™ solution to identify the most influential researchers in chemistry, physics, physiology or medicine and economics who are likely to be recognized by the Nobel committee.