Skip to content
Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy
Search Close

Philip Greenberg, MD

Head of the Program in Immunology, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center


Phil Greenberg heads the Program in Immunology at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center and is a professor of medicine and immunology at the University of Washington. His research has focused on elucidating fundamental principles of T-cell and tumor interactions; developing cellular and molecular approaches to manipulate T-cell immunity; and translating insights from the lab to the treatment of cancer patients, with emphasis on adoptive therapy with genetically engineered T cells.

Dr. Greenberg has authored more than 280 manuscripts and received many honors, including the William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Tumor Immunology from the Cancer Research Institute, the Team Science Award for Career Achievements from the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer, and election to the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians, the American College of Physicians, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has been a member of multiple scientific advisory committees and editorial boards and is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the American Association for Cancer Research and an editor-in-chief of Cancer Immunology Research.

Education & Training

  • Biology Washington University, St Louis, MO, BA
  • State University of New York, Downstate, NY, MD
  • Medicine University Hospital, University of CA, San Diego, Intern and Resident
  • University of CA, San Diego, CA, Postdoctoral Research Fellow Immunology
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA, Clinical and Research Fellow Oncology

Awards & Honors

  • 2015: Co-Editor-In-Chief, Cancer Immunology Research
  • 2011: William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology, Cancer Research Institute
  • 2008: Elected Fellow, American College of Physicians
  • 2007: Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 1998: Elected Member, Association of American Physicians
  • 1991-2007: National Institutes of Health MERIT Award
  • 1987: Elected Member, American Society of Clinical Investigation
  • 1978-1981: American Cancer Society Junior Clinical Faculty Fellowship
  • 1974-1976: USPHS Individual Postdoctoral Research Fellowship