Skip to content
Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy
Search Close

Jeffrey Bluestone, PhD

President and CEO


Jeffrey Bluestone, PhD, is president and CEO of PICI and the A.W. and Mary Margaret Clausen Distinguished Professor at UCSF. Dr. Bluestone is one of the leading immunologists in the field of T-cell activation and immune tolerance research that has led to the development of multiple immunotherapies, including the first FDA-approved drug targeting T-cell co-stimulation to treat autoimmune disease and organ transplantation and the first CTLA-4 antagonist drugs approved for the treatment of metastatic melanoma.

Dr. Bluestone is an academic leader on a national and international scale. He was the founding director of the Immune Tolerance Network, the largest NIH-funded multicenter clinical immunology research program, testing novel immunotherapies in transplantation, autoimmunity and asthma/allergy; executive vice chancellor and provost emeritus at UCSF and the former director of the UCSF Diabetes Center. Finally, Dr. Bluestone has authored more than 400 peer-reviewed publications and has received numerous awards, including election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Medicine. He was also appointed a member of Vice President Joe Biden’s Cancer Moonshot Blue Ribbon Panel.

Education & Training

  • 1980: Cornell Graduate School of Medical Science, PhD, Immunology
  • 1977: Rutgers, State University, MS, Microbiology
  • 1974: Cook College, Rutgers University, BS, Biology

Awards & Honors

  • 2016: National Cancer Foundation, Blue Ribbon Panel on Cancer Research (Biden Moonshot Program)
  • 2015: Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies, President-Elect
  • 2015: American Society of Transplantation, Outstanding Mentorship Award
  • 2013: National Academy of Medicine, Elected Member
  • 2010: American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology, Elliott Middleton Memorial Lectureship
  • 2005: Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Mary Tyler Moore & Robert Levine Excellence in Clinical Research Award
  • 2008: Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Scholar Award
  • 2006: American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Elected Member
  • 1998: Cornell Medical School,  Distinguished Alumni Award
  • 2004: Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Gerold & Kayla Grodsky Basic Science Award
  • 2004: American Society for Transplantation, Roche Distinguished Research Award
  • 1997: Guggenheim Foundation, Senior Fellowship
  • 1997: Fogarty Foundation, Senior Research Fellowship
  • 1989: American Cancer Society, Faculty Scholar
  • 1987 - 89: Gould Foundation, Faculty Scholar