Skip to content
Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy
Search Close

James Rubenstein, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine


James Rubenstein is a professor of medicine and a hematologist-oncologist or blood disorders specialist. His expertise is treating patients with neurologic complications from cancer, in particular patients with non-Hodgkin’s central nervous system (CNS) lymphoma involving the brain. He also specializes in patients with cancer that has spread to the brain from other parts of the body. In his research, he is interested in immunologic tools to improve tumor response to chemotherapy and radiation treatment, to minimize toxicity from treatment and the development of tumor biomarkers to diagnose brain tumors.

Education & Training

  • 1992: Cornell University Medical College, New York, NY, MD
  • 1995: Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA, Internal Medicine Residency
  • 1997: UCSF Cancer Research Institute, Hematology & Oncology Fellowship

Awards & Honors

  • 2013: Translational Research Program Award, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Invited Lectures
  • 2011: Sandler Award Program in Breakthrough Biomedical Research
  • 2009: Scholar in Clinical Research Award, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
  • 2008: UCSF Clinical and Translational Sciences Grant
  • 2006: G&P Foundation Award
  • 2005: UCSF Brain Tumor SPORE Development Award
  • 2004: American Cancer Society Award; National Cancer Institute Research Career Award
  • 2003: Tobacco-Related Disease Research Program IDEA Award; UC Discovery Grant
  • 2002: UCSF Research Evaluation and Allocation Committee Award
  • 2001: Accelerate Brain Cancer Cure Foundation Award; Career Development Award-American Society of Clinical Oncology; UCSF/Mt Zion Clinical Investigator Research Program
  • 2000: California Cancer Research Program Clinical Scientist Development Award; UCSF/Mt Zion Clinical Investigator Research Program
  • 1999: American Brain Tumor Association Fellowship
  • 1998: Young Investigator Award -American Society of Clinical Oncology
  • 1995: Housestaff Research Award