Skip to content
Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy
Search Close

Cassian Yee, MD

Professor, Department of Melanoma Medical Oncology, Division of Cancer Medicine


Dr. Yee is a Professor in the Department of Melanoma Medical Oncology and Department of Immunology at UT MD Anderson Cancer Center and Director of the Solid Tumor Cell Therapy Program. He previously held the position of Professor at Division of Oncology at the University of Washington and a Member in Program in Immunology, Clinical Research Division of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. The Yee Lab is developing adoptive cellular therapy as a treatment modality for patients with malignant and viral diseases. Over the last 18 years, Dr. Yee’s research has been focused on the isolation of autologous antigen-specific T cells from the peripheral blood, manipulation of immune modulating parameters to enhance effector function and persistence and their expansion to numbers sufficient for adoptive transfer and in vivo tracking.

Education & Training

  • 1986: University of Manitoba, Manitoba, Winnipeg, Canada, MD, Medicine
  • 1986-1987: General Comprehensive Internship, St. Michael's Hospital, Toronto, Canada
  • 1987-1989: Medical Research Council of Canada Fellow, Ontario Cancer Institute/ Princess Margaret Hospital, Toronto, Canada
  • 1989-1991: Clinical Residency, Internal Medicine, Stanford University Medical Center, Stanford, CA
  • 1991-1994: Research Fellowship, University of Washington/Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA

Awards & Honors

  • 2009: Elected to American Society for Clinical Investigation
  • 2006-2012: Clinical Scientist Award in Translational Research, Burroughs Wellcome Fund
  • 2001-2006: Damon Runyon-Lilly Foundation, Clinical Investigator Award, Damon Runyon-Lilly Foundation
  • 2000-2004: Cancer Research Institute Investigator Award, Cancer Research Institute
  • 1995-2000: Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award in Biomedical Sciences, Burroughs Wellcome Fund
  • 1994-1997: National Cancer Institute of Canada Fellowship, National Cancer Institute of Canada
  • 1991: Stanford University Housestaff Research Award, Stanford University
  • 1987-1989: Medical Research Council of Canada Post-MD Fellowship, Medical Research Council of Canada
  • 1983-1985: Terry Fox Cancer Research Scholarship